Town of Ahoskie
“The Only One”
Briefcase Icon
Money Icon
Money Icon
Government Icon
Auction Icon
Home » Town Government » Appointed Officials » Ahoskie Historical Commission

Ahoskie Historical Commission

Ahoskie Historic Preservation Commission:

Overview: The Historic Preservation Commission recommends design standards and guidelines for the Local Historic District to the Town Council. The Commission recommends areas to be designated in the Local Historic District to Town Council; and individual structures, buildings, sites, areas, or objects to be designated as Historic Landmarks. They also review and act upon requests for major work requiring a Certificate of Appropriateness (COAs) for alterations, demolitions, or new construction within the historic district. The Historic Preservation Commission also prepares and recommends the preservation element of the Town Comprehensive Long Range Plan.



  • Undertake an inventory of properties of historical, architectural, and/or cultural significance.
  • Recommend to the Town Council areas to be designated by ordinance as “Historic Districts”; and individual structures, buildings, sites, areas, or objects to be designated by ordinance as “Landmarks."
  • Acquire by any lawful means the fee or any other lesser included interest, including options to purchase, to properties within established districts or any other such properties designated as landmarks, to hold, manage, preserve, restore, and improve the same, and to exchange or dispose of the property by public or private sale, lease or otherwise, subject to covenants or other legally binding restrictions which will secure appropriate right to public access and promote the preservation of the property.
  • Restore, preserve, and operate historic properties.
  • Prepare and recommend the official adoption of a preservation element as part of the Town Comprehensive Long Range Plan.
  • Review and act upon proposals for alterations, demolitions, or new construction with historic districts, or for the alteration or demolition of designated landmarks, pursuant to this Section.
  • Recommend design guidelines to the Town Council.

Meeting Date: Monthly the fourth Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m.

Appointment of Membership:

The Commission is composed of at least 5, who are appointed and whose terms of office are set by the Ahoskie Town Council.

Board Details:

Term Limit 2 years:

Maximum term Limit 3 years:


Updated 03-21-2013
Established 02/13/2007
1st Official Meeting 07/11/2007

John Fritz (Chairman)
209 S. Catherine Creek Road
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 209-5455
Term expires: 06-30-2013

Tony Marra
105 Clarendon Road
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 332-4911
Term expires: 06-30-2016

W. Dan Joyner
107 Berkley Road
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 332-2507
Term expires: 06-30-2016

Betty Castelloe
136 W. Askewville Street
Windsor, NC 27983
(252) 794-2039
Term expires: 06-30-2016

Quinton Turman
116 Main Street E
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 209-0870
Term expires: 06-30-2016

Louis M. Velazquez
210 S. Williford Road
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 332-6844
Term expires: 06-30-2016

Hal Daniels
710 W. Stokes Street
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(252) 332-3279
Term expires: 06-30-2017



Mayor – Jimmie Rowe

P.O. Box 767
Ahoskie, NC 27910

Hertford County Economic
Development DirectorBill Early
115 Justice Drive Suite 2
Winton, NC 27986

Town ManagerCharles A. Hammond
P. O. Box 767
Ahoskie, NC 27910
(O) 332-5146


Special Advisor:

Jo Ann Williford
NC Office of Archives and History
4610 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4610

(Meeting Date – 4th Thursday of current month at 6:00 p.m.)




514 Curtis Street N.