All new residents of North Carolina are required, upon establishing residence, to purchase plates.
Immediately, contact the NC Automotive License Agency as to the time plates are to be purchased.
NC Automotive License Agency
903 E. Memorial Drive
It is a North Carolina law that you must have liability coverage; therefore, you must present a certificate of insurance with your application for license plates. Fees for state license plates vary based on type of vehicle.
Residents of Ahoskie are required to pay a $10 per vehicle license fee which is included in their vehicle tax statement.
A driver’s license may be secured at the NC Highway Patrol Station, two miles south of Ahoskie on NC Highway 42. Hours are Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. (252-332-5525). The fee is between $10.00 and $20.00, with the license expiring on the birthday of the applicant as shown on the license.