Ahoskie Historical Commission

Ahoskie Historic Preservation Commission:

Overview: The Historic Preservation Commission recommends design standards and guidelines for the Local Historic District to the Town Council. The Commission recommends areas to be designated in the Local Historic District to Town Council; and individual structures, buildings, sites, areas, or objects to be designated as Historic Landmarks. They also review and act upon requests for major work requiring a Certificate of Appropriateness (COAs) for alterations, demolitions, or new construction within the historic district. The Historic Preservation Commission also prepares and recommends the preservation element of the Town Comprehensive Long Range Plan.



Ahoskie Historic Preservation Commission Roster

 1st Official Meeting 07/11/2007 

Established 02/13/2007                                  Updated 07-20-2017              



                                                                                 Phone Number                           Term Expires

John Fritz (Chairman)

209 S. Catherine Creek Road

Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            209-5455                              06-30-2020           John.D.Fritz@honeywell.com


Tony Marra                                                                         

105 Clarendon Road

Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            332-4911                              06-30-2019           marraemma@embarqmail.com


W. Dan Joyner

107 Berkley Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             332-2507                              06-30-2019           wdanjoyner@gate811.net


Betty Castelloe   

126 Arrow Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             209-7001                              06-30-2019           castelloeb@embarqmail.com


Quinton Turman

116 Main Street E

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                             209-0870                              06-30-2019           quintonsonmain@yahoo.com


Louis M. Velazquez

210 S. Williford Road

Ahoskie, NC 27910                                                              332-6844                             06-30-2019           louvpa@hotmail.com


Amy Braswell                                                                      

Vice-Executive Director

Ahoskie Chamber of Commerce                                           332-2042                              06-30-2018           mimibraswel@gmail.com

301 S. Catherine Creek Rd.

Ahoskie, NC 27910




Mayor – Jimmie Rowe

                137Albemarle Drive                                                                           

                 Ahoskie, NC  27910                                                            



Hertford County Economic                                              Town Manager – Kerry McDuffie

Development Director – Bill Early                                                                   P. O. Box 767

                                            P. O. Box 429                                                     Ahoskie, NC  27910

                                           Winton, NC  27986                                             (O) 332-5146

                                           (O) 358-7801                                                      kerrymcduffie@ahoskie.org


Special Advisor

Jo Ann Williford

NC Office of Archives and History

4610 MailServiceCenter

Raleigh, NC  27699-4610                                                 


Meeting Date – 4th Thursday of the Month at 6:00 p.m.